Montalvo And Rodriguez Confirmed By Senate

In: All News   Posted 08/01/2003

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Senate unanimously confirmed the federal judicial nominations late Thursday evening of Frank Montalvo and Xavier Rodriguez to be U.S. District Judges for the Western District of Texas."I’m confident that these two fine Texas and outstanding jurists will continue to serve with excellence and bolster their strong records when on the federal district bench,” Sen. Cornyn said. “They understand the importance of interpreting the law, not trying to make the law from the bench and I’m pleased that my colleagues in the Senate have confirmed their nominations so quickly.” U.S. Sens. John Cornyn and Kay Bailey Hutchison recommended Montalvo and Rodriguez to President Bush for nomination earlier this year. Cornyn, a member of the Senate Judiciary Committee, introduced the nominees in a hearing last month. He told Chairman Hatch he hoped the Senate would confirm Montalvo quickly so he could move his family in the summer time before children return to school."Judge Montalvo, who serves where I once did as a state district judge, will bring to the federal district bench exceptional and unique qualifications,” Cornyn said. “Justice Rodriguez will be a worthy successor to Ed Prado, who was recently confirmed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. Rodriguez has been a leader in his previous roles and I’m sure he will continue to lead on the federal district bench.” Judge Frank Montalvo, born in Bayamon, Puerto Rico, currently serves on the 288th Judicial District Court of Texas, in San Antonio. Before joining the legal profession, he was a crash test safety engineer for General Motors. He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Puerto Rico, and his law degree from Wayne State University Law School. Justice Xavier Rodriguez is a native of San Antonio. He received his undergraduate degree from Harvard University in 1983, and a Master of Public Affairs degree and a law degree from the University of Texas in 1987. In 2001, Gov. Perry appointed him to the Texas Supreme Court.