Cornyn, Gonzales Legislation to Honor Historic Texas School Signed Into Law

In: All News   Posted 10/18/2022

Marfa’s Blackwell School Now a National Historic Site


WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator John Cornyn (R-TX) and U.S. Congressman Tony Gonzales (TX-23) released the following statements after theirBlackwell School National Historic Site Act, which establishes the Blackwell School in Marfa, Texas as a National Historic site and part of the National Park System, was signed into law yesterday:


“The Lone Star State is full of landmarks that teach us about who we are and where we come from as Texans, and the Blackwell School is an important part of that history,” said Sen. Cornyn. “I’m grateful to my colleagues Senator Padilla and Congressman Gonzales for partnering with me on this bipartisan push to recognize the Blackwell School, and I look forward to seeing how this National Historic site continues to educate future generations.”


“For decades, the Blackwell School served as the only institution in Marfa where the Hispanic community could receive an education. It was here that generations of Latino students faced the challenge of being considered as ‘separate but equal,’” said Rep. Gonzales. “For that reason, it is important for us to honor and preserve this building where such historic accounts took place. I am proud to see that legislation by Senator Cornyn and I will establish the Blackwell School as a national park site to commemorate this chapter of Latino history in the United States.”



From 1909 to 1965, the Blackwell School served as the only school for children of Mexican descent in Marfa, Texas to attend. In 2019, the school was listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and it meets the qualifications to become a National Historic Site. This legislation establishes the Blackwell School as one of the few national park sites specifically designated to commemorate Latino history and culture in the United States. Congressman Tony Gonzales (TX-23) introduced a version of the bill last year in the U.S. House of Representatives.